Parents live far away, so I sent them a qr code generated by my local SimpleX per email.

All they have to do is open their local SimpleX, go to one-time link and scan the qr code, right?

Once our devices have been connected, connection details remains saved in our local SimpleX and I don’t need to send a new qr code before I want to talk to them again, right?

  • artyom@piefed.social
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    3
    ·
    7 days ago

    Please don’t send people a QR code, those are for in-person sharing, and it just greatly complicates the process. It generates a link as well that you can send.

    But to answer your question, yes, that’s how it works.

  • ItsNotImportant24@lemmy.ml
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    2
    ·
    8 days ago

    That’s it. Just one time and you’re permanently connected. Unless, one of you deletes your connection, clears data, deletes account, etc. Then you lose access to any previous contact and have to reconnect.