Parents live far away, so I sent them a qr code generated by my local SimpleX per email.
All they have to do is open their local SimpleX, go to one-time link and scan the qr code, right?
Once our devices have been connected, connection details remains saved in our local SimpleX and I don’t need to send a new qr code before I want to talk to them again, right?


Please don’t send people a QR code, those are for in-person sharing, and it just greatly complicates the process. It generates a link as well that you can send.
But to answer your question, yes, that’s how it works.